About this site
About me
Glaciology, Greenland, Space Research
About my work, Danish Road Directorate, CV
Info about Denmark and Copenhagen
My Sherlock Holmes website
My best bookmarks

Mia's site


To dare is to lose one's footing momentarily. Not to dare is to lose oneself. (Soren Kirkegaard)

My name is Anna Mia Stampe Lagergaard and you have - deliberately or by chance - stumbled upon my website. This little knot on the Internet is primarily knit in order to share information and mutual interests with friends and family as well as allowing colleagues and associates a broader picture of me and the things I do.

About me

I'm 38 years old, happily married to to Jens, with whom I have the daughters Freja Viktoria from the spring 2004, and Clara Marie from the summer 2006. We live in Copenhagen, the capital of Denmark. However, I was born in Odense on the island Funen. Odense is the birth place of the famous fairytale writer Hans Christian Andersen.

Work and education

Today, I work as project coordinator in the Danish Road Directorate in a position that I find both challenging and rewarding. My background, however, is in academic science as I mastered in Glaciology and later made a Ph.D. in Space Physics. For more information, see the page Work & CV

Sherlock Holmes

I call myself a Sherlockian, because Sherlock Holmes research and the Victorian Era is a hobby of mine. To learn more about playing the Grand Game, Sherlock Holmes - the world's first and foremost consulting detective - and Dr. John H. Watson - his devoted biographer - take a look at the site: I hear of Sherlock everywhere.

Travelling

I love to travel. When younger, InterRail (a one month valid ticket for train travel in Europe) was for several years a sure hit. Alone or together with friends I took advantage of this many times.

During my study time I got the chance to see a bit of Greenland, which is a gorgeous country of breathtaking beauty.

My husband and I have in the recent years spent our holidays bycycling in Cornwall, Sussex Downs and Dartmoor, visited London, explored the western part of Scotland and Isle of Skye by car, and travelled a bit round in Colorado, Nevada and California.

Outdoor and sports

Denmark is perfect for biking - it's the optimal way of exploring the country. Visit the Danish Bicycle Association (Dansk Cyklist Forbund).

Sport is a must. To me it is a mean to avoid stress and to regenerate energy. During the later years running has been my favourite activity, since it can be performed whenever there is a vacant hour. I did the Copenhagen Marathon in 2003 and 2008.

Culture

Is best experienced in company of good friends. Copenhagen offers a wealth of museums, performances and activities, so it's always possible to find an interesting exhibition, show or event. See the Denmark and Copenhagen page for lots of pics as well as links news, info and guides to the country as well as cultural offerings.

Music

I guess my musical taste is relatively broad, but I'm a complete ignorant when it comes to remembering bands and names. I take myself off to an opera night at the Royal Theatre as often as possible.

My only passion in music is Jacques Brel, the French chanteur who died in 1979 of the early age of 49. His poetry and songs bear the trademark of genius. May they live for ever!

Memberships

I'm involved in a various number of societies and organisations, including:


Last updated July, 2008

Write me at ams@gfy.ku.dk

 

 

| Main Page | Ice & Space | Work & CV | Denmark | Sherlock Holmes | Bookmarks |